General Questions
Civil Questions
E-911 Questions
How do I get fingerprinted?
How do I obtain accident or offense reports?
How do I get a background check?
How do I apply for a job with the Sheriff's Office?
How do I get a Concealed Weapon Permit?
Do I need a Concealed Weapon Permit?
How do I report a crime tip?

How do I have legal papers served?
How do I bail someone out of jail?
What is a bond?
What happens if I posted bond for a defendant and they miss court?
How do I post a property bond?
How do I visit an inmate?
How do I send or deposit money for an inmate?
How do I get a Protection Order?

What is Enhanced 911?
How do I know if I should call E-911?
What information should I tell the E-911 Operator when I call?
Should I hang up and try to help or stay on the line?
If I accidentally call 9-1-1 should I hang up?
Who should I call if I just need general information?

General Questions

How do I get fingerprinted?
Sometimes your job or participation in a group or activity requires that you be fingerprinted. The Jail Division of the Blaine County Sheriff's Office provides this service to the public. To be fingerprinted come to the Central Control window/phone inside the Jail Lobby, located at 1650 Aviation Drive in Hailey, with photo identification. Fingerprints are done Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. A $5.00 cash fee per fingerprint card is required. Debit or credit cards can be used through the automated Kiosk for an additional service fee.
(top of page)

How do I obtain accident or offense reports?
The Blaine County Sheriff's Office Records Department provides accident or offense reports to any involved party free of charge. Reports can be requested in person, by calling the Records Department at (208)788-5555, by mail or by e-mailing sheriff@blainecounty.org Attention: Records Dept. Payment is accepted by cash or check payable to BCSO. There is a $5.00 fee for requests from insurance companies.
(top of page)

How do I get a background check?
Forms are available from our Records Department to request a statewide or national background check. The Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification will perform an inquiry of the Idaho Central Repository of Criminal History Records for a $10 processing fee. A nationwide personal criminal history can be requested from the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a $18 fee. You may pick up either form at the Sheriff's Office at 210 First Avenue South in Hailey, Idaho or contact the agencies directly. The ISP Bureau of Criminal Identification can be reached at (208) 884-7130. The FBI Liaison Office can be reached at (304)625-5590. The forms are to completed and mailed to the appropriate agency by the requestor with a set of fingerprint cards (see above). The Sheriff's Office provides the forms as a service but does not perform or submit the background checks. Our Records Deputy, Robyn Larese, can be reached at (208) 788-5555.
(top of page)

How do I apply for a job with the Sheriff's Office?
How do I apply for a job with the Sheriff's Office?
The Blaine County Sheriff's Office Application for Employment and Personal History Questionnaire are available for download on our Career Opportunities page. Visit our Career Opportunities page to learn more about an exciting career in law enforcement.

(top of page)

How do I get a Concealed Weapon Permit?
To obtain a concealed weapon permit, you must bring photo identification, proof of firearm training, any previous concealed weapon permits (CWL) issued to you and the $55 fee to the Driver's Services Desk at the Blaine County Annex building located at 219 First Avenue South in Hailey, Idaho.

After completing the CWL Application, you will be fingerprinted at the Blaine County Jail, located at 1650 Aviation Drive and a background check will be submitted to the FBI through the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification to determine your eligibility to carry a concealed weapon. A full listing of ineligibility causes can be found in Idaho Statute Section 18-3302 A-C. The law allows the Sheriff's Office 90 days to process the application and background check; Average process time is 30-60 days. Upon approval, applicants will be notified to return to Driver's Services to be photographed and receive their concealed weapon permit. Permits are good for 4-5 years depending on the date of issuance. The renewal fee is $20. Payment may be made by cash, check or credit card.
(top of page)

Do I need a Concealed Weapon Permit?
The answers to this question depend on how you plan to carry your weapon. If you plan to carry your weapon in plain sight at all times you are not required to obtain a concealed weapon permit (CWL). If you plan to carry your weapon hidden, covered or obscured on your person or in your vehicle, you will need to obtain a CWL. This includes placing your weapon under the seat or in the glove box. Idaho Law (Section 18-3302 A-C) states that a person shall not carry a concealed weapon without a concealed weapon license except in that person's home or fixed place of business.

A person shall not carry a concealed weapon without a CWL while in any motor vehicle while inside the limits or confines of any city, mining, lumbering, logging or railroad camp.

A firearm may be legally concealed in a motor vehicle as long as the weapon is disassembled and unlo
aded. This law does not apply to locations outside the limits or confines of any city, mining, lumbering, logging or railroad camp while engaged in lawful hunting, fishing, trapping or other lawful outdoor activity.

This law does not apply to lawfully possessed shotguns or rifles.
This law does apply to a dirk, dirk knife, bowie knife, dagger, pistol, revolver or any other deadly or dangerous weapon.
(top of page)

How do I report a crime tip?
The Blaine County Sheriff's Office would like you to know that you may report a crime anonymously. Please include as much information about the crime as possible including names, numbers, description, license plates, etc. You are not required to include your name or any other information that you do not wish to reveal. Any personal information that you wish to reveal will be strictly confidential.

To report a crime tip, please contact our Detective Division at (208)788-5515.

(top of page)



Civil Questions

How do I have legal papers served?
Legal documents are served by our Civil Department. Click below for more information about the services and fees associated with civil processing.

(top of page)

How do I bail someone out of jail?
To bail an arrested person out of jail, you must pay the amount of the bond plus an additional $10 per charge bond fee to the Blaine County Jail in cash. Credit cards and checks are not accepted. You may hire a licensed bond agent to post the bond for you. A listing of bond agents may be found in any local telephone directory. Note that in felony arrests a bond is usually not set until the arrested person appears before a judge.

If you post a cash bond, you may be eligible to receive some or your entire cash bond back after the case is finished and the necessary paperwork has been processed. Idaho law, I.C. 19-2923, allows the court to use the cash bond to pay any fines or costs that might have been imposed against the defendant. If you use a bond agent to post a surety bond, you will not get the surety bond agent's fee or the Sheriff's fee back.
(top of page)

What is a bond?
A bond (or bail) is the amount of money in cash, property, or surety that must be paid for an arrested person to be able to leave jail before his/her case is completed. The purpose of a bond is to make sure that person attends all of his required court appearances. Bond amounts for most misdemeanor charges are generally pre-determined by the court. Felony charges and some special "no-bond" charges require the defendant to appear before a judge to have a bond amount set before being able to post bond and be released.

Any person can post his or her own bond. If the defendant cannot afford to bond him/herself out of jail, any other person age 18 or older can post the bond. If you don't have the cash to cover the full bond amount, you may wish to hire a professional bail bond agent, who generally charges a fee of 10% of the total amount of the bail required plus an additional bond fee. Contact the bond agent directly for specific information on services and fees. All bond agents are required to be licensed by the State Department of Insurance.
(top of page)

What happens if I posted bond for a defendant and they miss court?
The judge will issue a warrant for the defendant's arrest and the bond money will be forfeited. If you posted a cash bond for the defendant, there are only two ways you can get your money back:
You must find the defendant and turn him or her back to the jail within 90 days of the bench warrant.
If the defendant is arrested and put back in jail within 90 days of the warrant, you can request your cash bond back.

Fill out the required paperwork and give it to the court. The judge will review it, and, if approved, the cash bond will be mailed back to you. If the defendant isn't found or arrested within 90 days, the court will keep your entire cash bond.
(top of page)

How do I post a property bond?
Because using your property as bond is a complicated legal matter, please contact your attorney.
(top of page)

How do I visit an inmate?
Current visiting hours at the Blaine County Detention Center are Daily from 9:00 a.m.-11:15 a.m., 12:00 p.m.- 5:45 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Visitors over the age of 18 must present photo identification to see an inmate. Visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. Please go to the Central Control window/phone inside the Jail Lobby to request to see a visitor. After providing identification you will be told which video visitation console to use. Each inmate may receive a total of 20 minutes of visitation daily. Visiting hours are subject to change. For a full list of Visitation Rules in both English and Spanish see our Jail page under Services.

(top of page)

How do I send or deposit money for an inmate?
How do I send or deposit money for an inmate? You may deposit funds on an inmate's account using the automated Telmate Kiosk in the Jail Lobby. The Kiosk accepts cash, debit or credit cards and can be used to post money on an inmate's trust account, pre-paid phone account and pay medical or housing fees. If the sender is out of the area, money can be put on the account by contacting Telmate directly at (866)516-0115 or a money order can be sent to the Blaine County Jail in care of the inmate's name. The mailing address is 1650 Aviation Drive, Hailey, Idaho 83333, Attention Jail Assistant.
(top of page)

How do I get a Protection Order?
Contact the Court Clerk's Office located in the Blaine County Judicial Building at 201 First Avenue South, Ste. 100 in Hailey, Idaho to see if you qualify for a civil protection order and apply for one. Restraining Orders are another issue and require the assistance of an attorney.
(top of page)



E-911 Questions

What is Enhanced 911?
E-911 is an emergency communication system that shows the caller's name, phone number, and physical address the moment the call is made. The E-911 system overrides blocked phone numbers. The information appears on a computer screen in front of the dispatcher, along with a map showing the physical location of the call and the correct fire, law enforcement, or ambulance agency for the specific address. E-911 saves time and assures accuracy. Sending the correct agency to the correct location, faster is the essence of emergency response.
(top of page)

How do I know if I should call E-911?
You should call 911 when you need police, fire or medical assistance to protect life or property Never tell an emergency operator that a situation is more serious than it really is. It is against the law to intentionally and knowingly give false information to the police or emergency services. Abuse of 9-1-1 may delay someone else's access to emergency assistance.

(top of page)

What information should I tell the E-911 Operator when I call?
Calmly give your name, your location, and the nature of the emergency. Listen carefully to the questions and instructions of the E-911 Operator. Answer all questions accurately; speak clearly and slowly. Do exactly as you are instructed to do during the call.
(top of page)

Should I hang up and try to help or stay on the line?
Never hang up until you are told to do so. It may be frustrating for you, but we need you stay on the line until we advise you that it is all right to hang up. Be patient if we seem to ask a lot of questions. There are certain things we must know to provide you with the services you need.
(top of page)

If I accidentally call 9-1-1 should I hang up?
No, stay on the line and let the E-911 Operator know that it was a mistake. If you hang up you will receive a call back from an operator or an officer will be sent to your location in an attempt to determine if the call was real emergency. Simply staying on the line to let the operator know that the call was accidental will avoid of misuse of time.

(top of page)

Who should I call if I just need general information?
If you do not need a police, fire or EMS response and are just requesting general information, please use our non-emergency telephone number (208) 788-5555.
(top of page)

 

 

Blaine County Sheriff’s Office

1650 Aviation Drive

Hailey, Idaho 83333

Phone: 208-788-5555

Fax: 208-788-3592

E-mail: sheriff@blainecounty.org